The Journey Begins

My wife and I tried a budget several times but it never worked for one reason or another.  Shortly after I got a new boss he started talking about finances and investing, mentioning Dave Ramsey several times.  Finally around March I decided to read the Total Money Makeover,  which I got from the library.  Also got the Financial Peace University CDs from the library.  If I’m trying to get out of debt I couldn’t justify buying these tools, though sometimes to make things better in the end spending some up front money isn’t always a bad thing.

 I’ll be the first to tell you that I don’t agree with everything Dave Ramsey teaches, we’ll get into that as we go.

There were a few steps that I did next, in no certain order.  I also did this as I was reading the book and listening to the CD’s.

– I started looking around for different sheets that I could use for a budget.  First created my own and then looked on the web to find some others were using.  Then began to play around with them.

– Got some basic utility costs together from the past year or so.  Mortgage, electricity, water, waste, trash, cable, phone, cell phone, car payments, car insurance and whatever was easily accessible.

– Talk to the wife about a spending plan, our future and just our finances in general.  I had to adjust my thought patterns from what made sense to me and make sure that I listened to what she was saying.  This is the toughest part to get on the same page and because of this requires patience from both people.

 I don’t work on Wednesday afternoon through Sunday so my posting won’t be as good during my off days, however trying to post each day is what I’m striving to accomplish.  Next step is about how my wife and I got on the same page.

2 Responses to The Journey Begins

  1. NCN says:

    Hey! I noticed the link and thought I’d stop by…
    Good luck getting out of debt! Trust me, being debt-free totally rocks – but
    it takes a willingness to CHANGE! RETHINK EVERYTHING!
    Feel free to email if you have any questions…
    NCN

  2. […] we first started this journey the only really goal I had at the time was getting our financial numbers in order.  Once this was […]

Leave a Reply

